Human Services Commission

Human Services Commission
c/o Human Services Department
100 Mona Terrace
Fairfield, CT 06824


The Human Services Commission is the policy-making body for the Department of Human Services.


The Human Services Commission generally meets the fourth Thursday of every month at 4:00 pm both in-person at the Bigelow Center for Senior Activities, 100 Mona Terrace, and via Conference Call Bridge. All schedules and locations are subject to change. Please check the Town Meetings Calendar for cancellations or location changes.

About the Human Services Commission

Term Length: Four Years (Two Term Limit)
# of Members: Nine
Appointing Body: Board of Selectmen
Party Balance Required?: Yes
Defined In: Town Charter - Article X


The Human Services Commission shall be the policy-making body for the Department of Human Services. The Human Services Commission and the Human Services Department are responsible for services to elderly and disabled residents of Fairfield.

The Commission studies community human service issues across all age and income groups, provides a public forum for citizen input, and makes recommendations to the Human Services Department and the First Selectman.

Member Listing 

# Name (Party) Title Term
1 Loretta Jay (D)   11/2020 - 11/2024
2 Barbara M. Paris (D)   11/2020 - 11/2024
3 Mary Ellen Gavin (R)   11/2020 - 11/2024
4 Carolyn Durgy (R)   11/2020 - 11/2024
5 Martin D. Schwartz (U)   11/2021 - 11/2025
6 Joseph R. Krajci, Jr. (D)   11/2021 - 11/2025
7 Gwen J. Palmer (R)   11/2022 - 11/2026
 8 Cheryl A. Jones (R)   11/2023 - 11/2027 - Appointed by BOS on 02/13/24
 9 Pertrinea R. Cash (U)    11/2023 - 11/2027