Government > Town Officers > Town Officers

Town Officers

A Town Officer, as defined by the Town Charter, is any individual elected or appointed to a Town office other than as a member of an authority, board or commission.

Here is a list of elected and appointed Town Officers designated in the Town Charter, by Town ordinance or by State statute.

Position  Name Appointing Body Term
Animal Control Officer Paul Miller Police Commission*  
Assessor Ross Murray Board of Selectmen  
Building Official Patrick Mahoney (Interim) First Selectwoman 4 years
Citation Hearing Officer Lukas J. Thomas First Selectwoman   
Conservation Director Tim Bishop Conservation Commission*  
Constables (7) [see Constables] [ELECTED] 2 years
Controller Caitlin Bosse First Selectwoman  
Fire Chief Denis McCarthy Fire Commission*  
Fiscal Officer Jared Schmitt First Selectwoman  
Director of Health Sands Cleary Board of Health* 4 years
Director of Human and Social Services Julie DeMarco First Selectwoman
Director of Human Resources Cathleen Simpson First Selectwoman  
Internal Auditors (1 or more) Connie Saxl Board of Selectmen  
Parking Violation Hearing Officer Lukas J. Thomas First Selectwoman   
Director of Parks and Recreation Anthony Calabrese First Selectwoman  
Planning Director James Wendt Town Plan and Zoning Commission*  
Chief of Police Robert Kalamaras Police Commission*  
Director of Public Works John Marsilio (Interim) First Selectwoman  
Purchasing Agent Adam Tulin First Selectwoman  
Registrar of Voters - Democrat Matthew Waggner [ELECTED] 4 years
Registrar of Voters - Republican Cathy Politi  [ELECTED] 4 years
Tax Collector David Kluczwski Board of Selectmen  
Town Attorney James Baldwin First Selectwoman  
Town Clerk Betsy Browne [ELECTED] 4 years
Town Librarian Scott Jarzombek Board of Library Trustees*  
Town Treasurer Christopher W. Tymniak First Selectwoman  
Tree Warden Jeffrey Minder Board of Selectmen 1 year

* With the approval of the First Selectwoman