About the Representative Town Meeting

Fairfield has a Representative Town Meeting (RTM) style of government. The RTM is the town’s legislative body. All legislative power of the town, including the power to enact ordinances, lies with the RTM (subject to referendum as noted in the Town Charter).

The RTM is made up of forty members, four members from each of the town’s 10 voting districts. Town residents are encouraged to go to their district RTM representatives with questions, concerns, or any issues that arise in the area where they live—or on town-wide matters.

Each RTM member is assigned to one of five standing committees which, to some degree, determines which issues on the Warning (agenda) members hear. The five standing committees are: Education and Recreation, Finance, Legislation and Administration, Public Health and Safety, and Public Works and Planning.